Portrait of John K Grubb

Texas Divorce and Prenuptial Agreement

5005 Riverway Drive, Suite 450 • Houston, Texas 77056

Phone: 713-877-8800 • Fax: 713-877-1229

Ranking Puts Texas as a Difficult to Divorce State

Divorce laws vary – sometimes quite widely – from state to state. Couples also often choose between states, weighing factors like the length of time divorce takes to become official, how long they have to live in a state before divorcing and how much the fees are. Bloomberg recently ranked the 50 states on factors like this, putting them in order of easiest to most difficult to obtain a divorce.

New Hampshire topped the list as the easiest state in which to divorce. Couples hoping to divorce do not even have to live in the state. A law professor noted that you meet the residency requirement just by staying in the state. There is no waiting period either. Wyoming was the second state in which it is easiest to divorce. Factors that led to its high ranking include a filing fee of just $70 and a minimum processing time of 80 days.

Vermont came in as the state in which it was most difficult for couples to divorce. Filing fees for the state are $262.50 and the minimum divorce wait is over a year at 450 days. Vermont requires that couples live apart for six-months while they are separated, and they have to be residents of the state for at least a year before even being able to file.

Texas was towards the bottom of the pack, as a state where it is more difficult for couples to divorce. To file for divorce, at least one of the spouses must have been a resident of Texas for six months. After establishing residency, there is a two-month waiting period before the divorce becomes final.

The Bloomberg ranking is available on its website. Did any state’s ranking surprise you? Did the study miss any important factors that made your divorce proceeding more difficult?

John K. Grubb & Associates, P.C. – Houston divorce lawyers

No Comment

Comments are closed.